My Day at the K

In an effort to be a more active baseball fan this season (and assuming that will carry over to future seasons), I purchased a package of tickets to Royals games this year.  This is convenient for two reasons: 1) the Royals are now and have been my favorite baseball team since about 1987 when I understood what baseball was and 2) they’re within an hour away from me.

And since the team has been crap for the better part of the last 15 years, tickets are cheap.  But I hadn’t been to a game in four years (August 2003 vs. the Yankees and it was awesome, by the way).  That changed tonight.

Unfortunately, the Royals lost 7-5 after a 3 run 8th inning from the Detroit Tigers where a lot of things went wrong and the momentum shift pretty much killed any chance the Royals might come back to tie or win the game.  Which was unfortunate, since the Royals jumped out early with three homers in the first four innings.  The wind was blowing strong towards my section (left field corner) and it was warm so the ball was carrying.  No foul balls my way though.  No fair balls either.  In fact, my seat was right behind the foul pole, so I’d have had a good vantage point on the fair/foul argument if it were to arise.

kauffman.jpg

Above is my view of the outfield and the famous Kauffman Stadium fountains.  I will maintain that this is one of the top five stadiums as far as simple looks are concerned.  No fake “vintage” buildings.  No “recreations” of other stadiums or other features of current stadiums.  Just a big ass scoreboard in the shape of the logo and fountains.  I dig it.

foulpole.jpg

This is my vantage point of the action while leaning forward in my seat.  Not too bad…just a little annoying to be behind a big yellow post in the ground 330 feet from home plate.

pennants.jpg

And here is a picture of the pennants won throughout the Royals’ history — the last one was from 1985 when they won the World Series.  That’s a long time.  It’s also the last time Kansas City made the playoffs.  That’s a longgggg time.   Also you can see the large video screen.  And my finger…hey it’s a cell phone camera…I couldn’t help it.

All in all, I had a good time, but hopefully next month when I’m back, we’ll get some wins.  Or at least one.  That’s not too much to ask…

~ by Michael Engel on May 6, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
